My profile

CommSy distinguishes between your account and your room profiles.

  • The Account section contains your basic data. This is the information you use to log in to CommSy. You can manage your personal data, newsletter, and additional functions here or delete your CommSy account.
  • The Room profile section lets you provide your address and contact information for each room you have joined as a member. To access the two sections, click your profile picture on the top right of the CommSy bar (Fig. 1).

A context menu opens. Click the section you would like to access.

Fig. 1: Your profile in the CommSy bar

 

1. Account settings

In the Account section, you can change your name and email address. If you use multiple accounts to access CommSy, you can combine them here (“Combine accounts,” Fig. 2). You can also activate and deactivate the “auto save” function and specify how often you would like to receive the newsletter.

Fig. 2: Account settings

This page also contains a button labeled “Delete account.” It allows you to cancel your CommSy membership.

Newsletter

Use the “Newsletter” section to choose whether you wish to receive the CommSy newsletter and, if so, how frequently (weekly/daily). By default, this option is set to “No newsletter.” The newsletter is sent to the email address provided in your account setting (see above).
 
The CommSy newsletter contains information about the recent activity in your rooms—both ones you have created yourself and ones you have joined as a member. This includes newly added materials, new discussions, and new room members. All news is easily accessible through direct links in your personal newsletter. 

Lock account

Choose “Lock account” to deactivate your CommSy account. You will no longer be able to enter CommSy, but your contributions will remain in place. If you want to delete any specific posts before leaving, please do so before you lock your account. Your membership can be unlocked again upon request.

Delete account

If you select “Delete account,” your personal data and your username will be deleted from the CommSy portal. You will no longer be able to enter CommSy. Your contributions will be anonymized.

Note: This process is irreversible! 

Combine accounts

If you use multiple accounts to access CommSy, you can combine them into a single account here. Any rooms that you have joined with your secondary account will be transferred to your main account. (Your main account is the one you are currently logged in to.)
To do this, enter the login data of your secondary account (the one you are not currently using) and click “Save.”

 

2. Room profile

In the “Room profile” section, you can change your personal data and your contact information (Fig. 3). You can set a profile image, specify your address and accounts on various messenger services, and write a text about yourself. This allows other CommSy users to learn more about you and get in touch with you. You can also cancel your membership in the room you are currently viewing here.

Fig. 3: Room profile

Cancel membership

  • Choose “Lock room membership” to end your access to the room. You will no longer be able to enter the room, but your contributions will remain in place. If you want to delete any specific posts before leaving, please do so before you lock your membership. Your membership can be unlocked again upon request.
  • If you select “Delete room membership,” your personal data and your username will be deleted from the current room. You will no longer be able to enter the room. Your contributions will be anonymized. Please note: This process is irreversible!

3. Dashboard

The dashboard is a very convenient, new function in CommSy9. It gives you a personalized overview of your activity in CommSy. It shows you the latest entries in your rooms and a calendar overview of all dates from all rooms you have joined as a member. To access the dashboard, click the icon to the left of your profile image in the CommSy bar on top of the screen (Fig. 4). Navigate to “Account” -> “Additional functions” to edit your dashboard settings.

Fig. 4: Dashboard and “My home”